Medical malpractice in New Mexico
Aggregate ceilings, by defendant type
New Mexico medical malpractice claims against providers who qualify under the Medical Malpractice Act generally face a three-year filing clock from the occurrence, often a medical review step for independent providers, and statutory aggregate recovery ceilings. Those ceilings exclude past and future medical care and punitive damages, and they depend on whether the defendant is an independent provider or a hospital.
Last reviewed September 22, 2026
- Independent base
- $750,000
- Hospitals in 2026
- $6,000,000
- Usual filing window
- 3 years
Then CPI. This page does not state the adjusted dollar
Stepped aggregate, excluding medical care
From the occurrence, with review-commission tolling
Damage caps
New Mexico limits aggregate recovery other than punitive damages and medical care. It is not a noneconomic-only cap. For independent providers, the base is $750,000 per occurrence for injuries on or after January 1, 2022, then CPI. Hospital cases follow a higher stepped schedule that reaches $6,000,000 for 2026. Qualified providers generally have personal liability limited to $250,000, with excess handled through the Patient's Compensation Fund or hospital-payment rules. This page does not state a CPI-adjusted dollar.
Medical care outside
Economic damages
The value of past and future medical care and related benefits is not subject to the aggregate dollar ceilings. Other recoverable amounts, other than punitive damages, sit inside the ceiling that matches the defendant type.
Lost earnings and similar non-medical losses are inside the aggregate. Do not describe the ceiling as a noneconomic-only limit.
Aggregate ceiling
Noneconomic damages
Pain and suffering and other non-medical recovery share one aggregate ceiling with non-medical economic loss. For an independent provider, that ceiling starts at a $750,000 base for an occurrence on or after January 1, 2022, and adjusts with CPI each year beginning January 1, 2023. Independent outpatient facilities use a separate schedule with a $1,000,000 base, also CPI-adjusted. Hospitals and hospital-controlled outpatient facilities follow statutory step-ups that reach $6,000,000 for 2026, then CPI beginning in 2027. This page does not state a CPI-adjusted dollar. Confirm the published figure for the occurrence or judgment year.
A qualified provider's own liability is generally limited to $250,000, or $500,000 for an independent outpatient facility. Excess is paid under Patient's Compensation Fund or hospital-payment rules. A provider who is not qualified may sit outside the Act. Hospital Fund treatment changes through and after January 1, 2027. Confirm qualification and defendant category before treating any figure as controlling.
The aggregate is framed per occurrence and depends on defendant category. An independent provider and a hospital do not share one ceiling. Confirm each defendant's qualification.
Act ceilings by defendant type
These are statutory bases, not payment averages, and not CPI-adjusted dollars. Medical care and punitive damages sit outside the aggregate.
| Milestone | Aggregate, excluding medical care | Qualified provider share |
|---|---|---|
| Independent providers, from January 1, 2022 | $750,000 base, then CPI | $250,000 |
| Hospitals in 2026Review year | $6,000,000 | Confirm Fund rules |
The independent-provider row is the statutory base, not the CPI-adjusted figure in effect for a given year. This page does not state that adjusted dollar. Independent outpatient facilities use a $1,000,000 base and a $500,000 personal-liability figure, also subject to the Act's CPI and qualification rules. Hospital personal-liability and Fund treatment should be confirmed, including changes through and after January 1, 2027. House Bill 99, signed in March 2026, addresses punitive damages. This page does not state punitive tier dollars.
Punitive damages
Punitive damages are excluded from the ordinary aggregate ceiling. House Bill 99, signed in March 2026, raises the proof standard and adds tiered punitive limits. Confirm the effective date and the tier text before treating those limits as locked. This page does not state punitive tier dollars.
2026 House Bill 99 signing announcement (opens in a new tab)
Filing deadlines
File within three years of the malpractice occurrence in most Act cases. Submitting a qualifying review-commission claim can toll the deadline. Confirm whether each defendant is a qualified participating provider.
- General rule
A claim under the Medical Malpractice Act generally must be filed within three years after the date the malpractice occurred. The period has an occurrence, or repose, character.
- Panel tolling
Submitting a qualifying claim to the Medical Review Commission tolls limitations until a short period after the panel decision is served.
- Who goes to the commission
Independent providers generally remain on the review-commission path. Hospitals and certain outpatient facilities have different post-2021 panel rules. Confirm the defendant category.
- Qualification
Only a qualified participating provider gets the Act ceilings and Fund mechanics. An unqualified defendant may sit outside that structure.
What cases often look like
These notes describe public legal patterns. They are not case counts, win rates, or rankings.
The defendant type selects the ceiling
An independent provider and a hospital do not share one aggregate number. Medical care sits outside either ceiling. The CPI-adjusted independent-provider dollar has to come from the published figure, not from this page.
Three years from the occurrence, unless the panel tolls
The filing headline is three years from the malpractice, with tolling when a qualifying claim goes to the Medical Review Commission.
2026 punitive changes are not locked here
House Bill 99 may change high-end punitive math. The effective date and the tier text still need counsel confirmation. This page does not state those tier dollars.
2026 House Bill 99 signing announcement (opens in a new tab)
Payout context
Payment amounts vary by year, injury, and setting. This page does not state an average payout, a median, or a case count. To predict the payout for a New Mexico case, use MedMalPredict AI - Medical Malpractice Outcome Prediction.
Defendant category, Act qualification, the medical-care track, and the applicable aggregate ceiling shape the result.
Sources
Official statute and agency pages checked September 22, 2026. First research pass on September 22, 2026. This summary still needs legal review before it is treated as legal advice. The Medical Malpractice Act, NMSA 1978, sections 41-5-1 and following, uses aggregate recovery ceilings that exclude punitive damages and past and future medical care. For an independent provider, the base is $750,000 per occurrence for injuries on or after January 1, 2022, with annual CPI adjustments beginning January 1, 2023. This page does not state a CPI-adjusted dollar. Confirm the Office of Superintendent of Insurance or Patient's Compensation Fund published figure for the relevant year. Independent outpatient facilities follow a separate schedule with a $1,000,000 base, also CPI-adjusted. Hospitals and hospital-controlled outpatient facilities follow a stepped schedule that reaches $6,000,000 for 2026, then CPI beginning in 2027. A qualified provider's personal liability is generally $250,000, or $500,000 for an independent outpatient facility, with excess handled through the Patient's Compensation Fund or hospital-payment rules. Hospital Fund treatment changes through and after January 1, 2027. Only a qualified participating provider gets the Act ceilings. The filing period is generally three years from the act under section 41-5-13. A Medical Review Commission filing can toll the clock under section 41-5-22. House Bill 99, signed in March 2026, adds punitive standards and tiered punitive limits. Confirm the effective date and the tier text. This page does not state punitive tier dollars.
- NMSA § 41-5-6 (statute mirror) (opens in a new tab)Accessed September 22, 2026
- NMSA § 41-5-13 (statute mirror) (opens in a new tab)Accessed September 22, 2026
- NMSA § 41-5-22 (statute mirror) (opens in a new tab)Accessed September 22, 2026
- Governor's announcement of 2026 House Bill 99 (opens in a new tab)Accessed September 22, 2026
- New Mexico Patient's Compensation Fund (opens in a new tab)Accessed September 22, 2026
Review a case with MedMalPredict
Use MedMalPredict to organize records and timelines. Speak with a New Mexico attorney about Fund qualification, the current CPI figure, and the 2026 punitive-damage reforms.